Aronson, Dawson take home major awards while 14 total Seahawks make All-CCC team

Aronson, Dawson take home major awards while 14 total Seahawks make All-CCC team

NEWPORT, R.I. - The Salve Regina University football team has placed 14 players on the Commonwealth Coast Conference (CCC) All-Conference team with two players taking home major awards. Senior center Nico Aronson (Wayne, N.J.) was named Offensive Lineman of the Year while senior running back James Dawson (Oradell, N.J.) earned the Hal Chambers Award (Senior Scholar Athlete).

Nine players made the All-Conference squad on offense. Joining Aronson and Dawson on the first team are guard Joe McDonald (Braintree, Mass.), wideout Brendan Nunes (Attleboro, Mass.), and tighend Tommy Seaver (Rocky Hill, Conn.). Senior guard Ian Bomely (Coral Springs, Fla.), running back Jake Gelb (Charlton, Mass.), tackle Michael Saunders, and wideout Connor Sullivan (Lowell, Mass.) make up the second team. Sullivan was also named to the second team as a all-purpose player.

On defense, defensive end Brandon O'Neill (Madison, Conn.), corner back Haiden Pereira (Hopkinton, Mass.), and defensive end John Salute (Mahwah, N.J.) were each named to the first team while linebacker Tyler D'Errico (Chesire, Conn.) and kicker David Gelormini (New Province, N.J.) were named to the second team.

"It is always such an honor to make an all conference team - and to have nine different offensive players, four different defensive players and one special teams player shows the quality of players that Salve football is bringing to the conference and is something that makes us proud," said head coach Kevin Gilmartin.

This is Aronson's third time on the All-Conference squad and his second straight season winning the Offensive Lineman of the Year award.  A Salve Regina lineman has won the award in six of the last seven seasons. Aronson started seven games at center for the Seahawks this season, anchoring an offensive line for an offense that averaged 33.1 points per game.

"We have had a great tradition of lineman here at Salve," said Gilmartin. "For Nico to win for the second year in a row is something that I am not sure has been done before in this conference.  That is something that is a remarkable honor - and for him to be able to do it two years in a row is an absolutely off the charts accomplishment."  

Dawson makes his first all-conference team after playing in six games, rushing for 660 yards and six touchdowns. Despite missing the final three games of the season, Dawson still managed to finish ranked second in yardage and third in touchdowns in the CCC. Dawson is also a member of the ROTC.

"We always say we are looking to be the best people we can be on and off the field.  And for James to receive the Hal Chalmers Award (Scholar-Athlete) for his prolific work both on and off the field is a true honor- and it also is a testament to how his success in life will continue long after his playing days are over," said Gilmartin.

Bomely, McDonald, and Saunders all make their first All-CCC teams along the offensive line to join Aronson.

Jake Gelb makes his first all-conference squad as well after rushing 83 times for 467 yards and six touchdowns. All of which were career highs.

Connor Sullivan makes his first all-conference team. He led the Seahawks in recieving, catching 44 passes for 585 yards and seven touchdowns. He also returned ten kicks for 275 yards, a 27.5 yard average.

Brendan Nunes makes his first all-conference squad in his sophomore season. Nunes caught 34 passes for 432 yards and seven touchdowns.

Senior tightend Tommy Seaver makes his second all-conference team, having been named to the first team previously in 2015. Seaver caught 25 passes, five of which went for touchdowns.

O'Neill and Salute accounted for 11.5 of the Seahawks 19 sacks. O'Neill notched 32 tackles, nine for a loss of 54 yards while forcing a fumble, breaking up a pass, and intercepting a pass as well. Salute also had 32 tackles, 10.5 for a loss of 58 yards, broke up three passes and recovered a fumble. Salute ranked second in the CCC for sacks while O'Neill was right behind him, ranked third. O'Neill makes his first all-conference team while this is Salute's second time earning the honor. 

Tyler D'Errico 54 tackles led the Seahawks. He also recorded 2.5 sacks, five tackles for a loss of 22 yards, a fumble recovery, and two pass breakups. This is his first All-CCC team.

Haiden Pereira broke up seven passes, second in the CCC, picked off two others, and totaled 30 tackles to make his first all-conference team.

Gelormini appeared in every game for the Seahawks, serving as the team's kickoff specialist. This is his first all-conference team.