Women's ice hockey places eight on all-academic team

Women's ice hockey places eight on all-academic team
The Seahawks sent eight players to the 2011-12 ECAC Women's East All-Academic Team

NEWPORT, R.I. – The Salve Regina University women's ice hockey team had eight players selected as members of the 2011-12 Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) Women's East All-Academic Team as announced by ECAC commissioner Rudy Keeling. Senior Kristen Aiello (Braintree, Mass.), sophomore Monika Borkowski (Ann Arbor, Mich.), sophomore Shannon Coleman (Chicago, Ill.), junior Caitlyn Farragher (Plymouth, Mass.), sophomore Natalia Madryga (Burnsville, Minn.), junior Melanie Sherlock (Colorado Springs, Colo.), junior Kelsey Talty (Fairport, N.Y.), and senior Jen Thiesing (Sandwich, Mass.) each represented the Seahawks on the All-Academic Team.

"We are once again impressed with our student-athlete's ability to excel on and off the ice," says Salve Regina women's ice hockey head coach Michael Cox. "This is another opportunity to celebrate their accomplishments."

In order to be eligible for the honor, student-athletes must have completed at least one academic year at their current institution, while also compiling a cumulative grade-point average of at least 3.00 on a 4.00 scale.

A total of 87 student-athletes representing all 12 member institutions were named to this year's all-academic team. The Seahawks placed more players on the all-academic team than all but three conference institutions.