Sat Dec 29
1:00 PM
St. Joseph (Conn.)
Salve Regina
Sun Dec 30
1:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Babson
Babson Tournament
Mon Dec 31
TBA
Babson Tournament
vs. Salve Regina
@ Wellesley, Mass. Babson Tournament
Thu Jan 03
5:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Curry
Thu Jan 03
7:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Curry
Fri Jan 04
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Oswego
Pathfinder Bank/Oswego State Hockey Tournament
Sat Jan 05
1:00 PM
Wentworth
Salve Regina
Sat Jan 05
3:00 PM
Wentworth
Salve Regina
Sat Jan 05
4:00 PM
Salve Regina
vs. TBD
@ Oswego, N.Y. Pathfinder Bank/Oswego State Hockey Tournament
Sat Jan 05
7:00 PM
Johnson & Wales (RI)
Salve Regina
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
Sat Dec 29
1:00 PM
St. Joseph (Conn.)
Salve Regina
Thu Jan 03
7:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Curry
Sat Jan 05
3:00 PM
Wentworth
Salve Regina
Tue Jan 08
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at U. of New England
Thu Jan 10
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Western New Eng.
Sat Jan 12
3:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Endicott
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Sun Dec 30
1:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Babson
Babson Tournament
Mon Dec 31
TBA
Babson Tournament
vs. Salve Regina
@ Wellesley, Mass. Babson Tournament
Thu Jan 03
5:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Curry
Sat Jan 05
1:00 PM
Wentworth
Salve Regina
Tue Jan 08
5:30 PM
Salve Regina
at U. of New England
Thu Jan 10
5:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Western New Eng.
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
Fri Jan 04
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Oswego
Pathfinder Bank/Oswego State Hockey Tournament
Sat Jan 05
4:00 PM
Salve Regina
vs. TBD
@ Oswego, N.Y. Pathfinder Bank/Oswego State Hockey Tournament
Fri Jan 11
7:35 PM
Morrisville
Salve Regina
Fri Jan 18
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Wentworth
Sat Jan 19
7:05 PM
Wentworth
Salve Regina
Tue Jan 22
7:35 PM
Plymouth St.
Salve Regina
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Sat Jan 05
7:00 PM
Johnson & Wales (RI)
Salve Regina
Sun Jan 06
4:05 PM
Salve Regina
at Johnson & Wales (RI)
Fri Jan 11
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Salem St.
Sat Jan 12
7:00 PM
Salem St.
Salve Regina
Tue Jan 15
7:00 PM
Williams
Salve Regina
Sat Jan 19
7:00 PM
Franklin Pierce
Salve Regina
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Sat Feb 16
1:00 PM
Clark University
Salve Regina
Sat Feb 23
1:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Salem St.
Wed Feb 27
5:00 PM
Wheaton (Mass.)
Salve Regina
Sat Mar 02
12:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Endicott
Wed Mar 06
5:00 PM
Mass.-Dartmouth
Salve Regina
Sun Mar 10
TBA
Adams St.
vs. Salve Regina
@ Colorado Spring, Colo.
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Sat Mar 02
TBA
Simmons
Salve Regina
Thu Mar 07
TBA
Mass.-Dartmouth
Salve Regina
Tue Mar 12
TBA
Salve Regina
at Rhode Island Col.
Wed Mar 20
5:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Mount Holyoke
Sat Mar 23
12:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Gordon
Mon Mar 25
TBA
Southern Vt.
Salve Regina
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
Tue Mar 26
TBA
Springfield
Salve Regina
Sat Mar 30
1:00 PM
Gordon
Salve Regina
Tue Apr 02
3:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Wentworth
Sat Apr 06
1:00 PM
Roger Williams
Salve Regina
Wed Apr 10
TBA
Salve Regina
at Endicott
Sat Apr 13
1:00 PM
Curry
Salve Regina
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Fri Mar 29
3:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Regis (Mass.)
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Spartans edge Seahawks 4-2 in NEHC matchup

SEAHAWK WOMEN'S ICE HOCKEY RESULTS
Castleton 4, Salve Regina 2
Middletown, Rhode Island - St. George's
Friday, November 3, 2017

Summary
Visiting Castleton University scored twice in the third period to defeat the Salve Regina University women's ice hockey team 4-2 Friday night in New England Hockey Conference (NEHC) action.

Series and Streaks
The Spartans now lead the all-time series 11-10-2 and are 4-1-1 in the last six meetings with the Seahawks.

Three Stars of the Game

  1. Castleton junior Aimee Briand (Barrington, N.H.) scored twice in the third period, breaking a 2-2 tie at 15:44 and again on an empty net at 19:17 to seal the win for the Spartans.
  2. Castleton freshman Casey Traill (South Shields, England) scored her first collegiate goal to give the Spartans a 2-0 lead in the first period.
  3. Salve Regina junior Jennifer O'Connell (Marstons Mills, Mass.) made 37 saves while allowing three goals in the loss to fall to 0-3-0.

Turning Point
With the game tied 2-2 in the late stages of the third period the Spartans had just killed off a Seahawks power-play when Aimee Briand skated from the left-wing side and worked her way free into the slot. She wristed a shot on net through a maze of players in front that found the top right corner under the bar for the go-ahead goal. Later with the goalie pulled Briand received the puck all alone at center ice and put in a long-distance shot to seal the game for Castleton.

Quick Hits

  • The Spartans jumped on top early, going 2-2 on the powerplay in the first period. Ali Stevens (Jefferson, Mass.) tipped in a shot at 12:08 to open the scoring, then Traill forced in a rebound on the man advantage not long after.
  • The Seahawks got on the board with 38 seconds left in the first period when Alexandra Anderson (San Anselmo. Calif.) fired in a rebound shot from Madison McCann (Westerly, R.I.). The Seahawks carried the momentum from the goal into the second period and McCann scored 40 seconds in to knot the game 2-2.
  • On the night the Spartans went 2-6 on the powerplay, while the Seahawks were 0-2 with the man advantage.
  • The Spartans outshot the Seahawks 41-10.
  • Junior netminder Rylie Wills (Sioux Lookout, Ont.) made eight saves to improve to 2-0-0 on the season for the Spartans.

Next Up
Salve Regina (0-3-0, 0-1-0 NEHC) - hosts Norwich University on Saturday, November 4, at 7 p.m.
Castleton (2-1-1, 1-0-0 NEHC) - travels to face UMass Boston on Saturday, November 4, at 2 p.m.