Tue Sep 17
3:45 PM
Salve Regina
at Coast Guard
Tue Sep 17
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Mass.-Boston
Wed Sep 18
3:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Endicott
Wed Sep 18
4:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Bridgewater St.
Thu Sep 19
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Endicott
Sat Sep 21
10:30 AM
at UMD Invitational
@ No. Dartmouth, Mass. UMass Dartmouth
Sat Sep 21
10:30 AM
at UMD Invitational
@ No. Dartmouth, Mass. UMass Dartmouth
Sat Sep 21
11:00 AM
Plymouth St.
vs. Salve Regina
Tri-Match
Sat Sep 21
12:00 PM
Gordon
vs. Salve Regina
Sat Sep 21
12:00 PM
Endicott
vs. Salve Regina
View Full Schedule
Sun Mar 01
1:00 PM
Fitchburg St.
vs. Salve Regina
Fri Mar 06
TBA
Salve Regina
at Arcadia
Sat Mar 07
TBA
Salve Regina
vs. Oswego
@ Arcadia, Pa.
Tue Mar 10
3:00 PM
Johnson & Wales (RI)
vs. Salve Regina
Wed Mar 11
3:00 PM
New England Col.
vs. Salve Regina
Sat Mar 21
12:00 PM
Curry
vs. Salve Regina
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Wed Nov 13
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Coast Guard
Sat Nov 16
2:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Babson
Tue Nov 19
5:00 PM
Stevenson
vs. Salve Regina
Sat Nov 23
1:00 PM
Suffolk
vs. Salve Regina
Tue Nov 26
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at St. Joseph (Conn.)
Sun Dec 01
1:00 PM
Dean College
vs. Salve Regina
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Wed Nov 13
TBA
Smith
vs. Salve Regina
Sat Nov 16
1:00 PM
Coast Guard
vs. Salve Regina
Wed Nov 20
5:30 PM
Suffolk
vs. Salve Regina
Fri Nov 22
TBA
Salve Regina
vs. Cave Classic Tournament
@ Bridgewater, Mass. Cave Classic Tournament
Fri Nov 22
5:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Bridgewater St.
The Cave Classic
Sat Nov 23
TBA
Salve Regina
vs. Cave Classic Tournament
@ Bridgewater, Mass. Cave Classic Tournament
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Sat Sep 21
10:30 AM
at UMD Invitational
@ No. Dartmouth, Mass. UMass Dartmouth
Sat Oct 05
10:00 AM
at Tri-State Invitational
@ Lincoln, R.I. CCRI
Sat Oct 12
10:30 AM
at James Early Invitational
@ Westfield, Mass. Westfield State University
Sat Nov 02
11:00 AM
at CCC Championship
@ Bristol, R.I.
Sat Nov 16
11:00 AM
at NCAA Regional
@ Brunswick, Maine
View Full Schedule
Sat Sep 21
10:30 AM
at UMD Invitational
@ No. Dartmouth, Mass. UMass Dartmouth
Sat Oct 05
10:00 AM
at Tri-State Invitational
@ Lincoln, R.I. CCRI
Sat Oct 12
10:30 AM
at James Early Invitational
@ Westfield, Mass. Westfield State University
Sat Nov 02
11:00 AM
at CCC Championship
@ Bristol, R.I.
Sat Nov 16
11:00 AM
at NCAA Regional
@ Brunswick, Maine
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
Thu Sep 19
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Endicott
Sat Sep 21
12:00 PM
Western New Eng.
vs. Salve Regina
Fri Sep 27
5:00 PM
Salve Regina
at U. of New England
Wed Oct 02
4:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Gordon
Sat Oct 05
12:00 PM
Roger Williams
vs. Salve Regina
Fall Festival Weekend
Tue Oct 08
6:00 PM
Nichols
vs. Salve Regina
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Sat Sep 21
12:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Dean
Sat Sep 28
1:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Nichols
Sat Oct 05
12:00 PM
Endicott
vs. Salve Regina
Fall Festival Weekend
Sat Oct 19
1:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Western New Eng.
Sat Oct 26
1:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Becker
Sat Nov 02
12:00 PM
U. of New England
vs. Salve Regina
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Fri Nov 01
6:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Plymouth St.
Fri Nov 08
6:40 PM
Salve Regina
at Nichols
Sat Nov 09
3:05 PM
Nichols
vs. Salve Regina
Fri Nov 15
TBA
Salve Regina
at Western New Eng.
Sat Nov 16
7:05 PM
Western New Eng.
vs. Salve Regina
Fri Nov 22
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Wentworth
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Fri Nov 01
TBA
Salve Regina
at William Smith
Sat Nov 02
TBA
Salve Regina
at William Smith
Fri Nov 08
7:00 PM
Becker
vs. Salve Regina
Sat Nov 09
6:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Becker
Fri Nov 22
TBA
Salve Regina
at Endicott
Sat Nov 23
TBA
Endicott
vs. Salve Regina
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Sat Feb 15
1:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Clark University
Sat Feb 22
1:00 PM
Mass.-Dartmouth
vs. Salve Regina
Sat Feb 29
TBA
Salve Regina
at Merchant Marine
Sat Mar 07
1:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Kean
Wed Mar 11
4:00 PM
St. Joseph's (L.I.)
vs. Salve Regina
Sat Mar 21
TBA
U. of New England
vs. Salve Regina
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Tue Feb 25
4:00 PM
Eastern Conn. St.
vs. Salve Regina
Sat Feb 29
1:00 PM
Simmons
vs. Salve Regina
Wed Mar 04
4:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Mass.-Dartmouth
Sat Mar 07
TBA
Mount Holyoke
vs. Salve Regina
Sat Mar 14
1:00 PM
Salve Regina
at New England Col.
Tue Mar 17
5:00 PM
Rhode Island Col.
vs. Salve Regina
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
Tue Sep 17
3:45 PM
Salve Regina
at Coast Guard
Sat Sep 21
3:00 PM
Endicott
vs. Salve Regina
Toppa Field
Tue Sep 24
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Mass. Maritime
Fri Sep 27
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Nichols
Sun Sep 29
1:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Johnson & Wales (RI)
Sat Oct 05
12:00 PM
Roger Williams
vs. Salve Regina
Fall Festival Weekend
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Wed Sep 18
4:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Bridgewater St.
Sat Sep 21
12:00 PM
Endicott
vs. Salve Regina
Tue Sep 24
3:30 PM
Mass.-Dartmouth
vs. Salve Regina
Thu Sep 26
8:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Lesley
Sat Sep 28
11:00 AM
Salve Regina
at Nichols
Wed Oct 02
5:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Keene St.
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Wed Mar 11
4:00 PM
Johnson & Wales (RI)
vs. Salve Regina
Wed Mar 11
6:00 PM
Johnson & Wales (RI)
vs. Salve Regina
Wed Mar 25
3:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Mass.-Boston
Wed Mar 25
5:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Mass.-Boston
Fri Mar 27
TBA
Salve Regina
at Gordon
Fri Mar 27
TBA
Salve Regina
at Gordon
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Sun Sep 22
1:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Mass.-Boston
Boston, Mass.
Sun Oct 13
TBA
Salve Regina
at Johnson & Wales (RI)
Thu Mar 26
4:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Springfield
Sat Mar 28
1:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Western New Eng.
Wed Apr 01
3:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Curry
Thu Apr 02
3:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Rhode Island Col.
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Wed Sep 18
3:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Endicott
Sat Sep 21
12:00 PM
Gordon
vs. Salve Regina
Tue Sep 24
3:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Nichols
Sat Sep 28
12:00 PM
Western New Eng.
vs. Salve Regina
Mon Sep 30
4:00 PM
Eastern Nazarene
vs. Salve Regina
Wed Oct 02
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Wentworth
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Fri Mar 20
at Bridgewater St.
Sat Mar 21
at Bridgewater St.
Sat Mar 28
at UMass Dartmouth
Sat Apr 04
at Coast Guard
Sat Apr 11
at Trinity
Sat Apr 25
at CCC Championships
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Tue Sep 17
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Mass.-Boston
Sat Sep 21
11:00 AM
Plymouth St.
vs. Salve Regina
Tri-Match
Sat Sep 21
3:00 PM
St. Joseph's (L.I.)
vs. Salve Regina
Tri-Match
Tue Sep 24
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Gordon
Thu Sep 26
7:00 PM
WPI
vs. Salve Regina
Sat Sep 28
11:00 AM
Salve Regina
at Curry
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Salve Regina wins eighth straight season opener with 35-28 final against Worcester State

Charlie Connell (No. 32) celebrates his pick six with several Seahawk defenders in chase.
Charlie Connell (No. 32) celebrates his pick six with several Seahawk defenders in chase.
Play Video

SEAHAWK FOOTBALL RESULTS
Salve Regina 35, Worcester State 28
Middletown, R.I. - Gaudet Field
Saturday, September 2, 2017

Summary
Salve Regina University sophomore Charlie Connell (Oradell, N.J.) intercepted the first and last passes by Worcester State University quarterback Noah Brum (Honnolulu, Hawaii) while returning the first for a pick six, as the Seahawks defeated the Lancers, 35-28.

Series and Streaks
The Seahawks have won the last four meetings with the Lancers, including the last three season openers, and have evened the all-time series at six wins apiece. Salve Regina has won its last eight season openers, the last five with head coach Kevin Gilmartin.

Three Stars of the Game

  1. Salve Regina senior James Dawson (Oradell, N.J.) - rushed a career-high 32 times (10 more time than previous career best) for 116 yards and one touchdown.
  2. Salve Regina sophomore Charlie Connell (Oradell, N.J.) - picked off two passes - the first returned nine yards for the first touchdown of the game; the second the final defensive play for the Seahawks who took a knee for two snaps to finish the last minute.
  3. Salve Regina junior Andrew Verre (Wethersfield, Conn.) - made all five PAT attempts with kicks through the uprights, and averaged 55 yards per punt including a pair of blasts (64, 56).

Scoring Drives
SRU 1st 11:24 Charlie Connell 9 yd interception return (Andrew Verre kick)
SRU 1st 7:49 James Dawson 2 yd run (Andrew Verre kick) 5-36 | 1:52
WOR 1st 2:26 Jacob Maher 10 yd pass from Noah Brum (Noah Hwang kick) 3-53 | 1:32 WOR 2nd 12:12 Jacob Maher 67 yd pass from Noah Brum (Noah Hwang kick) 2-67 | 0:41
SRU 2nd 8:37 Robert Askew 10 yd run (Andrew Verre kick) 7-63 | 3:35
WOR 2nd 0:00 Justin Lewis 18 yd pass from Noah Brum (Noah Hwang kick) 5-75 | 3:00
SRU 3rd 11:24 Brendan Nunes 35 yd pass from Danny McDermott (Andrew Verre kick) 3-42 | 1:13
SRU 3rd 9:15 Tommy Seaver 30 yd pass from Danny McDermott (Andrew Verre kick) 4-42 | 2:09
WOR 4th 5:49 Dan Orlando 5 yd pass from Noah Brum (Noah Hwang kick) 2-8 | 0:47

Key Stat of the Game
Seven interceptions - three by the Lancer defenders and four from the Seahawks, including two from Charlie Connell. Worcester State had 36 return yards on its three picks, while Connell was the only Seahawk to advance his interception - scoring six points on his nine-yard return.

Turning Point
Tied 21-21 at halftime after Noah Brum connected with Justin Lewis on an 18-yard pass play as time expired, Salve Regina started its first possession of the second half in enemy territory with the aid of a fair catch interference penalty. On 3rd-and-3, McDermott hit Brendan Nunes (Attleboro, Mass.) for a 35-yard touchdown completion. Senior David Gelormini (New Providence, N.J.) executed a perfect onside kick that was recovered in front of the Seahawk bench by classmate Andrew Harmon (Cedar Grove, N.J.). After three plays earned a 1st-and-10 from the Worcester State 30, McDermott found Tommy Seaver (Rocky Hill, Conn.) for a two-score advantage.

Quick Hits

  • James Dawson had his eighth career rushing game over 100 yards, and third in a row after finishing last season with a pair of games over the century mark.
  • Danny McDermott delivered three punts and landed all three inside the 20, the first pinning the Lancers on their own two-yard line. Two plays later, Charlie Connell had his pick six.
  • Andrew Verre attempted four punts and landed one inside the 20; his 64-yarder went over the head of Kharif Pryor (Brooklyn, N.Y.) who retrieved it on his own three-yard line before gaining six yards on his return.

Next Up
Salve Regina (1-0, 0-0 CCC Football) - hosts Montclair State University on Saturday, September 9 (12 p.m.), at the newly renovated Toppa Field at Freebody Park in Newport (new FieldTurf).
Worcester State (0-1, 0-0 MASCAC) - has its home opener on Friday, September 8 (7 p.m.), with Becker College making the short trip to Worcester.