Sat Dec 28
12:00 PM
Franklin
vs. Salve Regina
@ Daytona, Fla. Land of Magic Classic
Sun Dec 29
3:00 PM
Wis.-Eau Claire
vs. Salve Regina
@ Daytona, Fla. Land of Magic Classic
Tue Dec 31
1:00 PM
Pine Manor
vs. Salve Regina
Fri Jan 03
4:00 PM
Cortland
vs. Salve Regina
@ Norwich, Vt. Norwich Northfield Savings Bank Holiday Tournament
Fri Jan 03
4:00 PM
Salve Regina
at New England Col.
Sat Jan 04
TBA
Salve Regina
at TBD
Sat Jan 04
1:00 PM
Worcester St.
vs. Salve Regina
Sat Jan 04
3:00 PM
Johnson & Wales (RI)
vs. Salve Regina
Sat Jan 04
7:00 PM
New England Col.
vs. Salve Regina
Thu Jan 09
5:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Wentworth
View Full Schedule
Sun Mar 01
1:00 PM
Fitchburg St.
vs. Salve Regina
Fri Mar 06
3:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Arcadia
Sat Mar 07
TBA
Salve Regina
vs. Oswego
@ Arcadia, Pa.
Tue Mar 10
3:00 PM
Johnson & Wales (RI)
vs. Salve Regina
Wed Mar 11
3:00 PM
New England Col.
vs. Salve Regina
Sun Mar 22
12:00 PM
Curry
vs. Salve Regina
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Tue Dec 31
1:00 PM
Pine Manor
vs. Salve Regina
Sat Jan 04
1:00 PM
Worcester St.
vs. Salve Regina
Thu Jan 09
7:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Wentworth
Sat Jan 11
3:00 PM
Curry
vs. Salve Regina
Tue Jan 14
7:30 PM
Roger Williams
vs. Salve Regina
Sat Jan 18
3:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Gordon
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Sat Dec 28
12:00 PM
Franklin
vs. Salve Regina
@ Daytona, Fla. Land of Magic Classic
Sun Dec 29
3:00 PM
Wis.-Eau Claire
vs. Salve Regina
@ Daytona, Fla. Land of Magic Classic
Sat Jan 04
3:00 PM
Johnson & Wales (RI)
vs. Salve Regina
Thu Jan 09
5:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Wentworth
Sat Jan 11
1:00 PM
Curry
vs. Salve Regina
Tue Jan 14
5:30 PM
Roger Williams
vs. Salve Regina
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
Fri Jan 03
4:00 PM
Cortland
vs. Salve Regina
@ Norwich, Vt. Norwich Northfield Savings Bank Holiday Tournament
Sat Jan 04
TBA
Salve Regina
at TBD
Fri Jan 10
7:35 PM
Connecticut Col.
vs. Salve Regina
Sat Jan 18
7:05 PM
Endicott
vs. Salve Regina
Fri Jan 24
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at U. of New England
Sat Jan 25
7:05 PM
U. of New England
vs. Salve Regina
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Fri Jan 03
4:00 PM
Salve Regina
at New England Col.
Sat Jan 04
7:00 PM
New England Col.
vs. Salve Regina
Fri Jan 10
3:55 PM
Salve Regina
at Johnson & Wales (RI)
Sat Jan 11
7:00 PM
Johnson & Wales (RI)
vs. Salve Regina
Fri Jan 17
6:40 PM
Salve Regina
at Nichols
Sat Jan 18
7:00 PM
Nichols
vs. Salve Regina
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Sat Feb 15
1:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Clark University
Sat Feb 22
1:00 PM
Mass.-Dartmouth
vs. Salve Regina
Tue Feb 25
TBA
Johnson & Wales (RI)
vs. Salve Regina
Sat Feb 29
1:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Merchant Marine
Sat Mar 07
1:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Kean
Wed Mar 11
4:00 PM
St. Joseph's (L.I.)
vs. Salve Regina
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Tue Feb 25
4:00 PM
Eastern Conn. St.
vs. Salve Regina
Sat Feb 29
1:00 PM
Simmons
vs. Salve Regina
Wed Mar 04
4:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Mass.-Dartmouth
Sat Mar 07
1:00 PM
Mount Holyoke
vs. Salve Regina
Sat Mar 14
1:00 PM
Salve Regina
at New England Col.
Tue Mar 17
5:00 PM
Rhode Island Col.
vs. Salve Regina
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
Wed Mar 11
4:00 PM
Johnson & Wales (RI)
vs. Salve Regina
Wed Mar 11
6:00 PM
Johnson & Wales (RI)
vs. Salve Regina
Sun Mar 15
1:45 PM
Salve Regina
vs. Bowdoin
@ Clermont, Fla.
Sun Mar 15
6:15 PM
Salve Regina
vs. Stockton
@ Clermont, Fla.
Mon Mar 16
5:00 PM
Salve Regina
vs. Me.-Farmington
@ Clermont, Fla.
Tue Mar 17
12:30 PM
Salve Regina
vs. Franklin & Marshall
@ Clermont, Fla.
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Thu Mar 26
4:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Springfield
Sat Mar 28
1:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Western New Eng.
Wed Apr 01
3:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Curry
Thu Apr 02
3:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Rhode Island Col.
Sat Apr 04
1:00 PM
Nichols
vs. Salve Regina
Wed Apr 08
4:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Gordon
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
Fri Mar 20
at Bridgewater St.
Sat Mar 21
at Bridgewater St.
Sat Mar 28
at UMass Dartmouth
Sat Apr 04
at Coast Guard
Sat Apr 11
at Trinity
Sat Apr 25
at CCC Championships
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Seahawks shutout Bulldogs; improve to 3-0

Seahawks shutout Bulldogs; improve to 3-0
THE BASICS:
Score: Salve Regina 27, Dean 0
Records: Dean (0-2); Salve Regina (3-0)
Location: Franklin, Mass. (Lippert Field)
Date: Saturday, September 16, 2017
Time: 12:00 p.m.
 
THE LEAD:
In a game that featured 25 accepted penalties for a combined 248 yards and four turnovers, it was Salve Regina who walked away with a 27-0 win over Dean College in non-league football action on Saturday afternoon.
 
HOW IT HAPPENED:
The game was scoreless as both teams had drives stall out in first quarter. But as the second quarter began, Salve Regina was in the midst of a nine-play, 80-yard drive that culminated in a quirky touchdown for James Dawson(Oradell, N.J.). Dawson, who had done a lot of the heavy lifting on the ground on the drive, fumbled at the two-yard line but was able to recover his own miscue in the endzone.
 
Ahead 6-0 after the missed extra point, the Seahawks scored in four plays on their next possession, which started with a 37-yard sprint up the left sideline by Dawson. After a penalty extended the Salve Regina drive inside the Dean ten-yard line, Dawson barreled his way in for his second score of the day and a 13-0 lead.
 
The teams traded empty possessions but when Kaleel Harley (Pawtucket, R.I.) picked off Salve Regina signal caller Danny McDermott (Franklin, Mass.) and returned it 37 yards to the Seahawks' 36-yard line things were looking up for the Bulldogs.
 
That momentum was short-lived however, as a holding penalty and a sack on fourth down ended that drive.
 
As the half wound down, Salve Regina took advantage of a Bulldog special teams miscue to tack on another touchdown. The Seahawks' drive started at the Dean 16 and with four seconds left in the half, McDermott fired a strike to Brendan Nunes (Attleboro, Mass.) at the back of the endzone, giving the visitors a 20-0 halftime edge.
 
The only scoring in the second half came courtesy of a 36-yard interception return for a touchdown by Jake Gelb(Charlton, Mass.) midway through the third quarter.
 
INSIDE THE NUMBERS:
Dawson ran for 102 yards on 22 carries and the aforementioned two scores.
 
Both teams struggled passing the ball, combining to go 16-for-39 with four interceptions. In addition, both teams had a hard time on third down with a combined 7-for-30 conversion total.
 
The stars of the day on both teams were on the defensive side of the ball with both Nathan Gonzalez (Durham, Conn.) and Damian Dell'Anno (Reading, Mass.) recording seven tackles for the Seahawks. Gene Baisden, Jr. (Tampa, Fla.), meanwhile finished with a game-high eight stops, including two for loss. Justice Taylor (Cromwell, Conn.) was strong on the interior for the Bulldog, totaling six stops – three of which were behind the line of scrimmage.
 
UP NEXT:
Dean returns to the field for their third straight home contest during homecoming weekend when they welcome Becker College to Lippert Field for a 12:00 p.m. kickoff, while Salve Regina visits Western Connecticut.