Tue Sep 17
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Mass.-Boston
Wed Sep 18
3:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Endicott
Wed Sep 18
4:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Bridgewater St.
Thu Sep 19
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Endicott
Sat Sep 21
10:30 AM
at UMD Invitational
@ No. Dartmouth, Mass. UMass Dartmouth
Sat Sep 21
10:30 AM
at UMD Invitational
@ No. Dartmouth, Mass. UMass Dartmouth
Sat Sep 21
11:00 AM
Plymouth St.
vs. Salve Regina
Tri-Match
Sat Sep 21
12:00 PM
Gordon
vs. Salve Regina
Sat Sep 21
12:00 PM
Endicott
vs. Salve Regina
Sat Sep 21
12:00 PM
Western New Eng.
vs. Salve Regina
View Full Schedule
Sun Mar 01
1:00 PM
Fitchburg St.
vs. Salve Regina
Fri Mar 06
TBA
Salve Regina
at Arcadia
Sat Mar 07
TBA
Salve Regina
vs. Oswego
@ Arcadia, Pa.
Tue Mar 10
3:00 PM
Johnson & Wales (RI)
vs. Salve Regina
Wed Mar 11
3:00 PM
New England Col.
vs. Salve Regina
Sat Mar 21
12:00 PM
Curry
vs. Salve Regina
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Wed Nov 13
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Coast Guard
Sat Nov 16
2:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Babson
Tue Nov 19
5:00 PM
Stevenson
vs. Salve Regina
Sat Nov 23
1:00 PM
Suffolk
vs. Salve Regina
Tue Nov 26
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at St. Joseph (Conn.)
Sun Dec 01
1:00 PM
Dean College
vs. Salve Regina
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Wed Nov 13
TBA
Smith
vs. Salve Regina
Sat Nov 16
1:00 PM
Coast Guard
vs. Salve Regina
Wed Nov 20
5:30 PM
Suffolk
vs. Salve Regina
Fri Nov 22
TBA
Salve Regina
vs. Cave Classic Tournament
@ Bridgewater, Mass. Cave Classic Tournament
Fri Nov 22
5:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Bridgewater St.
The Cave Classic
Sat Nov 23
TBA
Salve Regina
vs. Cave Classic Tournament
@ Bridgewater, Mass. Cave Classic Tournament
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Sat Sep 21
10:30 AM
at UMD Invitational
@ No. Dartmouth, Mass. UMass Dartmouth
Sat Oct 05
10:00 AM
at Tri-State Invitational
@ Lincoln, R.I. CCRI
Sat Oct 12
10:30 AM
at James Early Invitational
@ Westfield, Mass. Westfield State University
Sat Nov 02
11:00 AM
at CCC Championship
@ Bristol, R.I.
Sat Nov 16
11:00 AM
at NCAA Regional
@ Brunswick, Maine
View Full Schedule
Sat Sep 21
10:30 AM
at UMD Invitational
@ No. Dartmouth, Mass. UMass Dartmouth
Sat Oct 05
10:00 AM
at Tri-State Invitational
@ Lincoln, R.I. CCRI
Sat Oct 12
10:30 AM
at James Early Invitational
@ Westfield, Mass. Westfield State University
Sat Nov 02
11:00 AM
at CCC Championship
@ Bristol, R.I.
Sat Nov 16
11:00 AM
at NCAA Regional
@ Brunswick, Maine
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
Thu Sep 19
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Endicott
Sat Sep 21
12:00 PM
Western New Eng.
vs. Salve Regina
Fri Sep 27
5:00 PM
Salve Regina
at U. of New England
Wed Oct 02
4:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Gordon
Sat Oct 05
12:00 PM
Roger Williams
vs. Salve Regina
Fall Festival Weekend
Tue Oct 08
6:00 PM
Nichols
vs. Salve Regina
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Sat Sep 21
12:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Dean
Sat Sep 28
1:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Nichols
Sat Oct 05
12:00 PM
Endicott
vs. Salve Regina
Fall Festival Weekend
Sat Oct 19
1:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Western New Eng.
Sat Oct 26
1:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Becker
Sat Nov 02
12:00 PM
U. of New England
vs. Salve Regina
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Fri Nov 01
6:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Plymouth St.
Fri Nov 08
6:40 PM
Salve Regina
at Nichols
Sat Nov 09
3:05 PM
Nichols
vs. Salve Regina
Fri Nov 15
TBA
Salve Regina
at Western New Eng.
Sat Nov 16
7:05 PM
Western New Eng.
vs. Salve Regina
Fri Nov 22
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Wentworth
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Fri Nov 01
TBA
Salve Regina
at William Smith
Sat Nov 02
TBA
Salve Regina
at William Smith
Fri Nov 08
7:00 PM
Becker
vs. Salve Regina
Sat Nov 09
6:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Becker
Fri Nov 22
TBA
Salve Regina
at Endicott
Sat Nov 23
TBA
Endicott
vs. Salve Regina
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Sat Feb 15
1:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Clark University
Sat Feb 22
1:00 PM
Mass.-Dartmouth
vs. Salve Regina
Sat Feb 29
TBA
Salve Regina
at Merchant Marine
Sat Mar 07
1:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Kean
Wed Mar 11
4:00 PM
St. Joseph's (L.I.)
vs. Salve Regina
Sat Mar 21
TBA
U. of New England
vs. Salve Regina
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Tue Feb 25
4:00 PM
Eastern Conn. St.
vs. Salve Regina
Sat Feb 29
1:00 PM
Simmons
vs. Salve Regina
Wed Mar 04
4:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Mass.-Dartmouth
Sat Mar 07
TBA
Mount Holyoke
vs. Salve Regina
Sat Mar 14
1:00 PM
Salve Regina
at New England Col.
Tue Mar 17
5:00 PM
Rhode Island Col.
vs. Salve Regina
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
Sat Sep 21
3:00 PM
Endicott
vs. Salve Regina
Toppa Field
Tue Sep 24
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Mass. Maritime
Fri Sep 27
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Nichols
Sun Sep 29
1:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Johnson & Wales (RI)
Sat Oct 05
12:00 PM
Roger Williams
vs. Salve Regina
Fall Festival Weekend
Thu Oct 10
3:30 PM
Lasell
vs. Salve Regina
Senior Day
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Wed Sep 18
4:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Bridgewater St.
Sat Sep 21
12:00 PM
Endicott
vs. Salve Regina
Tue Sep 24
3:30 PM
Mass.-Dartmouth
vs. Salve Regina
Thu Sep 26
8:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Lesley
Sat Sep 28
11:00 AM
Salve Regina
at Nichols
Wed Oct 02
5:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Keene St.
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Wed Mar 11
4:00 PM
Johnson & Wales (RI)
vs. Salve Regina
Wed Mar 11
6:00 PM
Johnson & Wales (RI)
vs. Salve Regina
Wed Mar 25
3:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Mass.-Boston
Wed Mar 25
5:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Mass.-Boston
Fri Mar 27
TBA
Salve Regina
at Gordon
Fri Mar 27
TBA
Salve Regina
at Gordon
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Sun Sep 22
1:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Mass.-Boston
Boston, Mass.
Sun Oct 13
TBA
Salve Regina
at Johnson & Wales (RI)
Thu Mar 26
4:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Springfield
Sat Mar 28
1:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Western New Eng.
Wed Apr 01
3:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Curry
Thu Apr 02
3:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Rhode Island Col.
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Wed Sep 18
3:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Endicott
Sat Sep 21
12:00 PM
Gordon
vs. Salve Regina
Tue Sep 24
3:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Nichols
Sat Sep 28
12:00 PM
Western New Eng.
vs. Salve Regina
Mon Sep 30
4:00 PM
Eastern Nazarene
vs. Salve Regina
Wed Oct 02
3:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Wentworth
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Fri Mar 20
at Bridgewater St.
Sat Mar 21
at Bridgewater St.
Sat Mar 28
at UMass Dartmouth
Sat Apr 04
at Coast Guard
Sat Apr 11
at Trinity
Sat Apr 25
at CCC Championships
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Tue Sep 17
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Mass.-Boston
Sat Sep 21
11:00 AM
Plymouth St.
vs. Salve Regina
Tri-Match
Sat Sep 21
3:00 PM
St. Joseph's (L.I.)
vs. Salve Regina
Tri-Match
Tue Sep 24
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Gordon
Thu Sep 26
7:00 PM
WPI
vs. Salve Regina
Sat Sep 28
11:00 AM
Salve Regina
at Curry
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Coene conquers Seahawks for Hawks in CCC matchup

Kevin Kelly scored 10 points for the Seahawks, eight in the second half. (Photo by Olivia St. Jean)
Kevin Kelly scored 10 points for the Seahawks, eight in the second half. (Photo by Olivia St. Jean)

SEAHAWK MEN'S BASKETBALL RESULTS
Roger Williams 68, Salve Regina 54
Rodgers Recreation Center - Newport, R.I.
Tuesday, December 4, 2018

Summary
NEWPORT, R.I. - Senior Austin Coene (Tyngsboro, Mass.) scored 15 of his game-high 28 points in the second half shooting seven-of-eight as Roger Williams University men's basketball defeated Salve Regina University in Commonwealth Coast Conference (CCC) action at the Rodgers Recreation Center on Tuesday evening.

Series and Streaks
As in-state rivals and charter members of the Commonwealth Coast Conference (CCC), these two schools are meeting for the 71st time in men's basketball (since 1984). Salve Regina leads the all-time series, 38-33, but the Hawks have won the last five meetings and seven of the last nine. Roger Williams has also won its first three league games of 2018-19, after starting the season 2-4 in non-league contests.

Three Stars of the Game

  1. Roger Williams senior Austin Coene (Tyngsboro, Mass.) made 13-of-19 shots with one 3-pointer and one free throw for a game-high 28 points. Coene made it a double-double with a game-high 10 rebounds.
  2. Salve Regina sophomore Jonathan Friberg (North Attleboro, Mass.) led the Seahawks with 13 points on five-of-eight from the floor and three free throws.
  3. Roger Williams sophomore JJ Pfohl (Trumbull, Conn.) chipped in 11 points, six assists, and four rebounds.

Key Stat of the Game
Roger Williams made five more field goals (28-23), two more 3-pointers (7-5), and two more free throws (5-3).

Turning Point
Salve Regina senior Kevin Mannix (Barrington, R.I.), and sophomores Cameron Collins (Oakdale, Conn.) and Kevin Kelly (Valhalla, N.Y.) score the first three buckets in succession to start the second half, and cut the Seahawk deficit to five (34-29). After a Hawk timeout, JJ Pfohl hit a 3-pointer and Ian Carmichael (Atkinson, N.H.) and Coene followed with a layup and jumper, respectively.

Quick Hits

  • Kevin Kelly finished with 10 points for Salve Regina, eight in the second half.
  • Kelly also had a team-high eight rebounds.
  • Pfohl had a game-high six assists.
  • Six different Hawks hit 3-pointers with two from Rich Pugliese (Middlebury, Conn.).

Nex Up
Salve Regina plays at Worcester State University on Saturday at 1 p.m.; Roger Williams hosts Connecticut College at 1 p.m.